On Being Kind

Lisa Sealey
2 min readJan 23, 2022
Photo by Adam Nemeroff on Unsplash

It’s true what they say — kindness costs nothing and is easy to give.

I got married in a public place; there was a gazebo in the center of the area, and that’s where we said our vows. When I was waiting around the corner with my father to walk down the aisle, a woman passed by me and said, “You look absolutely beautiful.” She was a stranger, so it stunned me, and since she kept walking, I wasn’t able to thank her. But it stayed with me. And ever since my wedding day, every time I see a bride, I tell her the same thing. It may mean nothing to them, but I remember how it meant everything to me.

Today, I had another experience with kindness.

I was at the gym, working on mile 4 or so of 6 for the day. I was dragging. I was also in my head. I was at the “What the hell do you think you’re doing? You’re too old for this. You’re too overweight. You’re too slow, and you’ll never make it” part of the program. Usually I don’t go there, but it happens.

A woman came up to me and got on the treadmill next to me. I had seen her working out earlier a few treadmills down, so I was puzzled as to why she was getting on this one.

She got my attention, and said, “I wanted to tell you that you’re killing it.” She gave me her name, and asked for mine. She continued, “I know how hard it is. And I wanted to let you know that I see you. And…

--

--

Lisa Sealey

Hi, I’m Lisa. | Organizing | Planning | Time Management | Productivity | Life | Sign up for updates, tips, info, and freebies: www.lisasealey.com/newsletter