Podcast Episode 79 — Organizational Skills for the Unorganized

Tips to help you get started.

Lisa Sealey
5 min readAug 8, 2022
Photo by Sonia Sanmartin on Unsplash

Today I want to talk about organizational skills for unorganized people.

I am, by nature, an organized person. My mom used to tease me because I organized my toys when I was little. It was automatic to me, and it took me a long time to realize that most people are not programmed that way.

If organizing is hard for you, or the thought of it stresses you out, here are some tips to help:

Have a Place for Everything. This is especially important for the items you use every day. For example, put your keys in a bowl on the table near the door or on a hook near the door. Put your purse, briefcase, or backpack in the same spot every time you put it down. Having a place for everything not only keeps you organized, it saves you time because you always know where things are and don’t waste time searching for them.

Make lists. Lists can be your best friend if you’re trying to get or stay organized. When you write everything down, it helps you to visualize what needs to be done.

Start with one list. You can call it your “today” list. Write down everything you need to do today. If your list is long, prioritize the top 3 things that absolutely must get done and do those first…

--

--

Lisa Sealey

Hi, I’m Lisa. | Organizing | Planning | Time Management | Productivity | Life | Sign up for updates, tips, info, and freebies: www.lisasealey.com/newsletter